Intolerance has no place in Virginia

41%In the early hours of the morning, the Virginia House of Delegates, led by far-right activists, refused to confirm the judicial nomination of Tracy Thorne-Begland, simply because he is gay. This sort of intolerance is unacceptable in Virginia. All residents of our Commonwealth should be treated fairly and equally. Homophobia is not an acceptable reason to reject qualified judicial nominees. Tell the 41 Delegates who rejected Thorne-Begland's nomination that Virginians won't stand for this blatant intolerance.

A list of how each Delegate voted can be found here.


All contact information requested on the right is required by the recipients in order to send them your message.



Share your thoughts on Facebook


Delegates Anderson, Bell R.P., Bell R.B., Byron, Cline, Cole, Cosgrove, Cox J.A., Cox M.K., Crockett-Stark, Dudenhefer, Edmunds, Fariss, Garrett, Greason, Helsel, Hodges, Hugo, Iaquinto, Ingram, Knight, Landes, Lingamfelter, Marshall D.W., Marshall R.G., Massie, Merricks, Morefield, O'Quinn, Pogge, Poindexter, Putney, Ramadan, Robinson, Rush, Scott E.T., Sherwood, Stolle, Villanueva, Watson, Wilt will receive this petition.


  • Delegate Tony O. Wilt
  • Delegate James E. Edmunds II
  • Delegate C. Matthew 'Matt' Fariss
  • Delegate Daniel 'Danny' W. Marshall III
  • Delegate James 'Will' W. Morefield
  • Delegate Charles D. Poindexter
  • Delegate Barry D. Knight
  • Delegate Brenda L. Pogge
  • Delegate Edward 'Ed' T. Scott
  • Delegate M. Keith 'Keith' Hodges
  • Delegate Timothy 'Tim' D. Hugo
  • Delegate T. Scott 'Scott' Garrett
  • Delegate Benjamin 'Ben' L. Cline
  • Delegate Riley E. Ingram
  • Delegate Israel D. O'Quinn
  • Delegate Christopher 'Chris' P. Stolle
  • Delegate Gordon C. Helsel Jr.
  • Delegate David I. Ramadan
  • Delegate Roxann L. Robinson
  • Delegate L. Nick 'Nick' Rush
  • Delegate Jimmie P. Massie III
  • Delegate Robert 'Bob' G. Marshall
  • Delegate Richard 'Rich' L. Anderson
  • Delegate R. Steven 'Steve' Landes
  • Delegate Robert 'Rob' B. Bell III
  • Delegate L. Scott 'Scott' Lingamfelter
  • Delegate M. Kirkland 'Kirk' Cox
  • Delegate Thomas 'Tag' A. Greason
  • Delegate Ronald 'Ron' A. Villanueva
  • Delegate Mark L. Cole
  • Delegate Richard 'Dickie' P. Bell


*Required fields

If you take action and have not already registered, you will receive periodic updates and communications from us.


Intolerance has no place in the Virginia House of Delegates

Dear Virginia Legislator, 

Your vote to reject the judicial nomination of Tracy Thorne-Begland based on his sexual orientation is shameful and a stain on the reputation of our Commonwealth. A 20 year veteran of the US Navy and a top prosecutor in Richmond, Thorne-Begland is eminently qualified to sit on the Virginia bench. All residents of our Commonwealth should be treated fairly and equally. Intolerance has no place in the Virginia House of Delegates.

[Your Name]